…..The Feeling Called Love…..inspired by the movie, Dear John

julyAbout A year and a half ago, I watched this movie, Dear John. It immediately became one of my best movies of all time. I’ve watched it over and over again and today seemed to be the perfect day to watch it again. Trust me, it’s not your usual boy meets girl, fall hopelessly in love, the end type of movie. Can’t believe it took me this long to find out that there is a book the movie was based on. You all ready know what’s on the top of my to read list.

Though I wasn’t paying as much attention as I usually would, something caught me this time at the end, from savannah’s final letter.
“Dear John,
It’s been almost five years since I wrote a letter with an actual pen on an actual sheet of paper. But I thought maybe I could write you now and tell you all that’s happened since I saw you last. A few weeks after you showed up here, Tim received an anonymous donation. A donation that was enough to give him what the insurance companies wouldn’t: Time. Time to finally come home. Time to spend with his son. Time to say goodbye.
The problem with time, I’ve learned, whether it’s those first two weeks I got to spend with you, or those final two months I got to spend with him, eventually time always runs out.
I have no idea where you are out there in the world, John, but I understand I lost the right to know these things long ago. No matter how many years go by, I know one thing to be as true as it ever was:
I’ll see you soon.
If your not tearing up by now I have nothing more to say!
Sometimes it’s so hard to believe, especially with movies like this, that true love really does exist in reality.

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud” – 1st Corinthians 13:4

The love between John and Savannah was like no other, they were from different worlds, but something about love, it knows no boundaries…..the fell in love. Though the love never ended, just like any other their was put to the test. They drifted apart and Savannah got married to someone else.
Her husband became terminally ill, and he’s father passed away…..he takes his father’s coin collection, all he has left from his father, sells it and makes an anonymous donation to help Savannah’s dying husband, “it doesn’t envy, it doesn’t boast”
Hmmmm…… Does this type of love really exist now…are we capable of putting aside our pride, put our hearts out there and love someone unconditionally? I am a sucker for love and even though I get hurt 100 times am looking forward to falling in love the 101th time. Do people still write letters at all……the good old days love letters…..I remember back in the days, you get a letter from an admirer as you open the letter, the scent his cologne he sprayed on it feels the room……the good old days….now thanks to technology, you prob would be lucky if you get an email…..
I wonder what life was like during the days of Shakespeare, Othello and the likes of them. That reminds, another must watch also featuring Amanda Seyfried, Letters to Juliet. I just got the book the movie was based on, can’t wait to read it. Another book I got, Love letters from Great men. If you are a fan of sex and the city, you must have heard when Carey told Mr big, John Preston (so hot for him) about it. And the sexiest part of the movie is when Mr Big whispers those final 6words from Beethoven’s letter into Carey’s ear. One thing I love most about the book is how it shows that even the strongest on men can be vulnerable when it comes to matter of the heart, #sniff….
O wow, what an amazing feeling to be in love, And an even better feeling to be love more in return…..
Can’t wait to e swept of my feet.
I know Its just a matter of time….. I can already feel it coming, till then I leave you with my favourite line from the book, love letters by great men……
Ever thine
Ever mine
Ever ours
Categories: Factual Drama, Freshly Pressed

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

